With many thanks to our friend Kurt Eggerling for the German translation of the KSL Angular Movement.

German flag Return to other German translations
Winkelbewegung

Technik des Bogenschießens = Winkelbewegung 

Eine Mehrheit glaubt, dass Bogenschießen eine Technik linearer Bewegung ist. Wenn man ein wenig nachhakt, geben manche zwar zu, dass auch etwas Winkelbewegung dabei ist. Wir behaupten jedenfalls, dass es sich nahezu ausschließlich um Winkelbewegung handelt.

Als eine Erweiterung der KSL Schusszyklus Technik möchten wir hiermit klarstellen, dass die Bogenschießtechnik in erster Linie aus Winkelbewegungen besteht, im Gegensatz zu der linearen Zug-/Druck-Technik, die von vielen Bogenschützen angewendet wird. Biomechanisch ist letztere Technik nicht die bestmögliche.

Eine unverblümte Aussage vielleicht, aber lasst uns die Rückenspannung einmal aus der biomechanischen Sicht betrachten.

Es gibt zwei Zweige der Biomechanik: Kinematik und Kinetik. Die Kinematik befasst sich mit Bewegung, die entweder linear oder winklig sein kann. Wie bereits erwähnt: „Wir müssen davon loskommen, dass die Expansion - oder die Kraftlinie(Vektor) - nur eine lineare Bewegung in Verlängerung des Pfeils ist. Wir müssen verstehen, dass diese Expansion nicht nur eine lineare Bewegung aus Zug und Druck ist, sondern eher das Resultat einer großen, kreisförmigen Bewegung (Die Verhältnismäßigkeit der Bewegung, siehe Schritt 9 unter Der Schusszyklus).. Die Verhältnismäßigkeit  dieser Winkelbewegung wird verständlich, wenn man 3 Positionen dieses Winkels betrachtet: die Schultern zur Wirbelsäule (kleinste Bewegung), die Rippen in Verbindung mit dem Brustbein (größere Bewegung) und ganz außen der Zug- und der Bogenarm (größte Bewegung)“. Wie bereit gesagt, Bogenschießtechnik ist zum größten Teil Winkelbewegung. Nur ein Teil der Bewegung ist linear, nämlich vom Setup zum Ankern. Deshalb ist es so ungeheuer wichtig, den Transfer-Schritt zu haben, um die lineare Bewegung in eine Winkelbewegung transformieren zu können – denn bei kontinuierlicher Bewegung wäre der Wechsel von Linear- zu Winkelbewegung unmöglich.

Das Prinzip des „Nachhaltens“ ist ein weiteres biomechanisches Prinzip, das klar zeigt, dass es sich auch hier um Winkelbewegung handelt. Es besteht aus zwei Schlüsselelementen: Spannung und Richtung. Die Spannung ist „Rückenspannung“ und Richtung ist eine Winkelbewegung. Während des gesamten „Nachhaltens“ muss der Bogenschütze die Spannung der zusammengedrückten Schultern spüren. Und zwar nicht nur, weil das bogenseitige Schulterblatt hereinkommt in Richtung Wirbelsäule, sondern weil sich der Brustkasten durch die Winkelbewegung öffnet.

Die Rotation um die Wirbelsäule ist klar zu sehen auf den Schuss-Sequenz Fotos von David Barnes. Wenn Du Dich an den senkrechten Linien orientierst, siehst Du, dass die gesamte Drehung um die Wirbelsäule stattfindet.

Warum ist die KSL Schusszyklus Technik biomechanisch anderen Techniken überlegen? – Aus folgendem Grund: diese Technik hat sich unter dem enormen Stress bewährt, dem die Bogenschützen im „Hexenkessel“ von Weltmeisterschaften und Olympiaden ausgesetzt sind.

Eine interessante Studie von Tom Parrish, USA Archery High Performance Manager, analysiert die höchsten Ringzahlen (Durchschnitt bei den 3x12 Pfeile Wettkämpfen beim Viertel-, Halb- und Goldfinale aller Wettkämpfe von der Olympiade 2000 bis zur WM 2005). Siehe die Liste unten. Es überrascht nicht, dass unter den ersten fünf allein drei Australier sind, die von Trainer Lee mit der KSL SchusszyklusTechnik trainiert wurden.   

12 ARROW MATCHES AVG.
(WAC + OLYMPIC - 2000-2005)
1 CUDDIHY AUS 113.3
2 FAIRWEATHER AUS 112.7
3 TORRES FRA 112.7
4 BARNES AUS 112.3
5 YEON KOR 112.3
6 YAMAMOTO JPN 111.7
7 IM KOR 111.3
8 FRANGILLI ITA 110.7
9 VAN ALTEN NED 110.0
10 GALIAZZO ITA 110.0
11 CHUNG KOR 109.7
12 PARK KOR 108.7
13 CHOI KOR 108.3
14 WUNDERLE USA 107.3
15 MORIYA JPN 106.3


KSL Logo
2005- KSL International Archery - All rights reserved

Dutch Flag Click here for Dutch Translation

German Flag Click here for German Translation

Spanish Flag Click here for Spanish Translation

Serbian Flag Click here for Serbian Translation

Thai Flag Click here for Thai Translation

Italian FlagClick here for Italian Translation

French FlagClick here for French Translation

Angular Movement

Archery Technique = Angular Movement

A majority of people believe that archery shooting technique is a linear movement. Even though, when "pushed" a bit, they might concede that there is some angular movement. However, we say that it is, nearly, all angular movement.

Therefore, as an addition to the KSL Shot Cycle Technique we would like to introduce the case that archery technique consists of, nearly, all angular movements, rather than the push and pull technique, that a lot of archers use and basically is a linear motion. Biomechanically this is not the best possible technique.

A blunt statement maybe, but let us examine back tension from a biomechanical viewpoint.

There are two branches of biomechanics - Kinematics and Kinetics. Kinematics deals with motion, which can either be linear or angular. As we have stated before, "We must get away from the belief that expansion or the line of force as you call it, is just a linear movement and takes place only in a linear direction with the arrow. Once we can fully understand that this expansion is not just a linear movement of push and/or pull, but more a result of a big circular movement (The Ratio of Movement, refer to Step 9 under Shot Cycle on this Website) which involves the scapulae to back bone (small movement); the chest bones connecting with the chest joint (bigger movement) and the draw and bow arms (biggest movement)" we will get a better appreciation. As we said, archery technique is nearly all angular movement. There is only one part of linear movement, which is from set-up to anchor. Therefore, it is essential to have the transfer step to be able to transform this part of linear movement into an angular movement, as with continuous motion this change from linear to angular would not be possible.

The principle of "Follow-through" is another biomechanical principle which clearly explains that back tension is an angular movement. It consists of two key elements - Tension and Direction. The Tension is "Back Tension" and Direction is an angular movement. Throughout the "Follow-through" the archer must continue to feel the tension in their back from the scapulae coming together. This is not just because the bow side scapula is coming in towards the spine, but because the chest is opening up due to the angular back movement.

The rotation is around the spine, which can clearly be seen on this website under Shot Sequence Photos of David Barnes, showing, when you examine the vertical lines, that all rotation is around his spine.

Why is the KSL Shot Cycle Technique biomechanically superior to other techniques? - For the reason that it is a technique that stands up much better to the immense stress experienced by archers under the pressure cooker conditions of Olympic Match Play at World Championships and Olympic Games.

Interesting research, which was conducted by Tom Parrish, USA Archery High Performance Manager, analyzed the highest average of 3x12 arrow match results of the Individual Quarter, Semi and Gold final matches from the Olympics 2000 to the World Championships 2005 period. Refer list below. It is not surprising to find that in the top five there are three Australian archers, all who have been coached by Coach Lee, employing the KSL Shot Cycle Technique.

12 ARROW MATCHES AVG.
(WAC + OLYMPIC - 2000-2005)
1 CUDDIHY AUS 113.3
2 FAIRWEATHER AUS 112.7
3 TORRES FRA 112.7
4 BARNES AUS 112.3
5 YEON KOR 112.3
6 YAMAMOTO JPN 111.7
7 IM KOR 111.3
8 FRANGILLI ITA 110.7
9 VAN ALTEN NED 110.0
10 GALIAZZO ITA 110.0
11 CHUNG KOR 109.7
12 PARK KOR 108.7
13 CHOI KOR 108.3
14 WUNDERLE USA 107.3
15 MORIYA JPN 106.3


KSL Logo
2005- KSL International Archery - All rights reserved